City Council reorganization and election results

Edi Birsan and Carlyn Obringer were sworn in tonight and are now officially Councilmembers for the new term (re-elected and newly elected, respectively).

Edi was elected Vice-Mayor by his colleagues, and Laura Hoffmeister was confirmed as Mayor for her second year, both until December 2017. Ron Leone ends his term as Vice-Mayor but remains as a Councilmember. Laura and Ron’s terms on Council will end in 2018.

One seat remains empty on Council due to the election of Tim Grayson to the California Assembly. A seat is also now open on the Planning Commission due to Carlyn’s election to Council. The Council seat will be filled via selection by the now-sitting four-member Council, and the Planning Commission seat by the five-member Council after that, both from among any Concord voters who choose to apply.

Here is the link to apply for the Planning Commission seat.

2 thoughts on “City Council reorganization and election results

  1. I asked Carlyn about the order of the appointments and she said that the councilmember will be appointed first so that a five member council will fill the vacancy on the Planning Commission.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s